We are the Athletes’ Commission for the British Paralympic Association (BPA).

We act as an advisory to the BPA, representing the views of athletes to the BPA Board, Executive Team and Games Planning Group.

We support the BPA in their mission to send a best prepared team of athletes to every Paralympic Games by ensuring the BPA considers athlete feedback and advice on athlete-facing areas.

Our Mission Statement:

  • To ensure the viewpoint of the Athlete is represented across all areas of the BPA’s work.
  • To lead with integrity, upholding the BPA’s values of excellence, honesty and trust to represent, advocate and communicate the voice of ParalympicsGB athletes, ensuring that the BPA maintains an athlete-centred approach.

Athlete Commission Elections

Representatives serve a maximum of two four-year terms and so this year four members - Claire Cashmore, Sophie Christiansen, Ben Quilter and Stef Reid – will stand down.

Six new members will be elected at this year’s elections, which take place in November, bringing the total number of members to 12.

Members of the BPA’s Athlete Commission:

Ali Jawad


Ali’s talent for powerlifting was discovered back in 2005 when he was just 16 years old and he has now represented ParalympicsGB at three Paralympic Games, most recently winning silver at Rio 2016.

Go to Ali Jawad’s profile

Charlotte Henshaw


Charlotte enjoyed a successful career in the pool, winning medals for ParalympicsGB at London 2012 and Rio 2016 before transitioning to Para canoe.

Go to Charlotte’s profile.

Gaz Choudhry

Wheelchair Basketball

One of the original ‘superhumans’ from London 2012, Gaz has twice won Paralympic bronze medals at Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020, where he stepped into the role of player coach.

Go to Gaz’s profile

Grace Clough MBE

Para rowing (retired)

Grace Clough only took up rowing in late 2013 but made her Paralympic debut in Rio as a double World Champion. As part of the mixed coxed four she triumphed at her first Games to win Paralympic gold.

Helene Raynsford - Chair

Para rowing (retired)

Helene Raynsford became the first ever Paralympic champion in rowing when she won gold at Beijing 2008 in the women’s single sculls.

Libby Clegg

Para athletics

Libby is a veteran of four Paralympic Games since making her debut at Beijing 2008 as a visually impaired sprinter. Five Paralympic medals later Libby has recently transferred across to cycling.

Go to Libby’s profile

Helen Scott

Cycling (retired)

Recently retired after winning her fifth Paralympic medal at Tokyo 2020, Helen has been one of Great Britain’s most successful tandem pilots forming medal -winning partnerships alongside Aileen McGlynn and Sophie Thornhill.

Go to Helen’s profile

Lora Fachie MBE


Lora has represented ParalympicsGB in cycling at London 2012 and Rio 2016. At those first Games in South America, Lora and her tandem guide Corrine Hall won pursuit gold and time trial bronze

Natasha Baker


Natasha is a 6-time Paralympic gold medallist having represented ParalympicsGB at London 2012, Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020.

Go to Natasha’s profile

Sean Rose

Para alpine skiing (retired)

Tania Nadarajah


Tania made her Paralympic debut at Rio 2016 just two years after taking up the sport and has since medalled at the 2016 European Para Archery Championships.

Go to Tania’s profile

Contact us: