Amy truesdale in action



New to the Paralympic programme for Tokyo 2020, the martial art of Para taekwondo has one key difference to Olympic taekwondo – kicks to the head are not allowed.

Matches are made up of three two-minute rounds and take place indoors on an octagonal shaped court. Para taekwondo comes in two forms - Kyorugi for athletes with limb impairments and Poomsae for athletes with intellectual impairments. Only Kyorugi will take place at Tokyo 2020.

Sport Details

The rules

All scoring is based on kicks to the trunk. Two points are awarded for a valid kick, four points for a kick involving a 180-degree turn, and three points for a spin kick.

Athletes wear body protectors with in-built electronics that register kicks, while a jury watching from the sidelines determines the complexity of each move and the exact number of points that can be awarded, if required.

In the event that scores are tied after three rounds then an extra golden point round is held.

There are four sport classes in Para taekwondo, K41 to K44, each divided according to weight. At Tokyo 2020, there are events for competitors in the K43 or K44 classes only (K43 athletes compete up a class), with three weight classes each for men and women.

K43 includes athletes with bilateral amputation below the elbow, or equivalent loss of function in both upper limbs.

K44 includes athletes with unilateral arm amputation (or equivalent loss of function), or loss of toes which impact the ability to lift the heel properly.

The six medal events at Tokyo 2020 are:

K44(+K43) -61kg (Men)

K44(+K43) -75kg (Men)

K44(+K43) +75kg (Men)

K44(+K43) -49kg (Women)

K44(+K43) -58kg (Women)

K44(+K43) +58kg (Women)

Share this page

Related News