Great Britain equalled their best-ever finish at a Wheelchair Rugby World Championships despite losing 47-36 to the United States in their third-place play-off.

And there were individual awards for Jonathan Coggan (0.5) and Jim Roberts (3.0) who picked up Best in Classification trophies at the closing ceremony.

Paul Shaw’s side matched their achievements of 2006 and 1995 by finishing just a single spot off the podium after a fine tournament which saw them win four pool games out of five.

That saw Great Britain through to the semi-finals where they were narrowly beaten 59-57 by hosts Australia setting up a rematch with the USA for the bronze medal.

In the third-place play-off, it was the United States who held the initial advantage as they earned a 12-9 lead at the end of the opening quarter.

And after a hard-fought second quarter there was still nothing between the sides with the Americans leading 23-19 at the Sydney Olympic Park.

The United States showed their quality in the third quarter stretching their advantage to nine points and taking a 37-28 lead into the closing eight minutes.

A battling effort in the final quarter saw Great Britain eventually edged out 47-36 as the United States claimed the bronze medal in Australia.

In the final, Japan shocked hosts Australia, the world number one ranked side, 62-61 to take the World Championship title.

Pool Games:

Poland 31-55 Great Britain

USA 47-41 Great Britain

Great Britain 55-43 Canada

Great Britain 57-20 Colombia

Great Britain 47-41 France


Australia 59-57 Great Britain

Bronze-medal match:

Great Britain 36-47 USA

Share this page

Related News