1 November 2019

Graham itching for Scotland return at Para-Cycling International

Scottish youngster Fin Graham admits he can’t wait to compete back in his homeland, after being named in the GB squad for the Para-Cycling International in Glasgow on November 8.

The 20-year-old was named alongside 13 other athletes to take part in events that will run alongside the UCI Track Cycling World Cup, as he and his teammates look to step up their preparation ahead of next summer’s Paralympic Games.

But for Graham - who competes on both the track and the road - the competition harbours extra importance as he looks to showcase the improvement he has made since moving from his native Highlands to his team’s base in Manchester.

“This has been something that has been on my radar for a while,” he said. “So, to be named in the team to compete at Glasgow is fantastic.

“The previous track World Cup which featured para-cycling - in London last year - was an amazing experience, so I can’t wait to compete in front of what will hopefully be a typically passionate Scottish crowd.”

Among the other names vying for success in Scotland is seven-time Paralympic champion - across swimming and cycling - Jody Cundy, who will compete alongside Rio 2016 gold medallists Louis Rolfe and Jon-Allan Butterworth in the team sprint.

Tandem duos Steve Bate and Adam Duggleby, and Lora Fachie and Corinne Hall - both reigning Paralympic pursuit champions - will go for glory in the event in their respective categories, as will Rio 2016 winner Megan Giglia.

There are also places in the squad for 2018 world champion Crystal Lane-Wright, world scratch race silver medallist Will Bjergfelt, UCI Road World Championships medallist Jaco van Gass, 2017 world champion Jon Gildea and MC2 flying world record holder Matthew Robertson.

The full Great Britain cycling team for the Glasgow Para-Cycling International:

Louis Rolfe (MC2)

Matthew Robertson (MC2)

Jaco Van Gass (MC3)

Fin Graham (MC3)

Jody Cundy (MC4)

Jon Gildea (MC5)

Will Bjergfelt (MC5)

Jon-Allan Butterworth (MC5)

Steve Bate (MB)

Adam Duggleby (Pilot)

Megan Giglia (WC3)

Crystal Lane-Wright (WC5)

Lora Fachie (WB)

Corrine Hall (Pilot)

Photo credit: SWpix.com

Share this page

Related News