Triple Paralympic medallist Kare Adenegan headlines an all-star cast of ParalympicsGB athletes selected to join the British Athletics World Class Programme in the run up to Tokyo 2020.

ParalympicsGB’s athletics squad won 33 medals in Rio two years ago, including 15 golds, and 30 athletes have been chosen on the Paralympic podium programme for 2018-19.

Adenegan shone at the 2018 World Para Athletics European Championships, winning T34 100m gold, and is looking to get her first taste of Paralympic gold in Japan in two years’ time, following her silver and two bronzes in Rio.

She is joined in a glittering podium squad by Paralympic champions such as Jonnie Peacock, Hannah Cockroft, Hollie Arnold, Sophie Hahn, Aled Davies, Kadeena Cox and Richard Whitehead amongst others.

Double Paralympic bronze medallist David Devine also secures a spot following a stunning European Championships that reaped gold and silver medals in the T13 5000m and 1500m event.

A further five medallists from Berlin have gained selection to the 17-strong Paralympic podium potential squad – with the 2019 World Para Athletics Championships taking place in Dubai next year – including T33 100m champion Harri Jenkins and double European champion Thomas Young.

David Weir has also been offered membership to the programme after announcing his intentions to compete at Tokyo 2020.

The six-time Paralympic gold medallist revealed his plans to compete in the marathon in Tokyo after retiring from the track two years ago.


"Once again I’m delighted that we are offering membership of World Class Programme to such a strong cohort of athletes."

British Athletics Paralympic head coach Paula Dunn

“After a successful World Para Athletics European Championships and Commonwealth Games in 2018, we have been able to add six high-quality athletes to the programme who have achieved excellent progress throughout the year.

“We have a depth of strength throughout the programme which sets us up for not only the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai in 2019 and the Paralympic Games in Tokyo in 2020, but the next cycle as we head towards Paris 2024.”

Paralympic Podium:

Kare Adenegan

Hollie Arnold

Paul Blake

Olivia Breen

Jonathan Broom-Edwards

Mickey Bushell

Jo Butterfield

Richard Chiassaro

Libby Clegg

Chris Clarke

Hannah Cockroft

Kadeena Cox

Aled Davies

David Devine

Kyron Duke

Sabrina Fortune

Dan Greaves

Sophie Hahn

Georgina Hermitage

Jordan Howe

Sophie Kamlish

Samantha Kinghorn

Maria Lyle

Stephen Miller

Jonnie Peacock

Gemma Prescott

Stef Reid

Andrew Small

Isaac Towers

Richard Whitehead

Paralympic Podium Potential:

David Weir

Martina Barber

Craig Boardman

Dan Bramall

Harri Jenkins

Mo Jomni

Dillon Labrooy

Nathan Maguire

Polly Maton

Derek Rae

Zac Shaw

Luke Sinnott

Zak Skinner

Ali Smith

JohnBoy Smith

Vanessa Wallace

Eve Walsh-Dann

Thomas Young

Share this page

Related News