10 July 2018

British Athletics name 52-strong team for World Para Athletics European Championships

Hollie Arnold will look to add to her Commonwealth Games gold medal when she competes at the World Para Athletics European Championships in Berlin next month.

Arnold – who is also the current Paralympic champion after triumphing in Rio in 2016 – won the F46 javelin on the Gold Coast earlier in the year and is one of five athletes named in the 52-strong British team to have won Commonwealth medals in Australia.

Olivia Breen and Sophie Hahn also enjoyed success on the Gold Coast, in the T38 long jump and T38 100m respectively, and will be looking for more success in Berlin from 20-26 August.

Arnold, Breen and Hahn are also among 18 of the 52 athletes selected to have won medals at the last European Championships in Italy in 2016. The medal haul of 56 two years ago was a record for the British team at the event.

Elsewhere, after a season that has so far seen him set a world record – since beaten – in the T54 800m, and also set personal bests over all distances from 100m up to 800m, Richard Chiassaro will be hoping for further European success from his five events, after winning four medals at the previous championships.

Paula Dunn, head coach at British Athletics, said: “We have a great tradition of winning medals at a continental level and I am looking forward to watching how our experienced athletes and those making their debuts perform.

“After a three-year period involving two World Championships, a Europeans and a Paralympic Games, it was always the intention for a handful of athletes to rest and recuperate in 2018.

“We have a great mixture of athletes going to Berlin who have reached the very top of the sport and those beginning their journey and I’ve no doubt they will learn a lot from each other in Berlin.”

The British team selected for the World Para Athletics European Championships 2018:

Kare Adenegan (Job King; Coventry) – T34 100m & 800m

Hollie Arnold (David Turner; Blackheath & Bromley) – F46 Javelin

James Arnott (Ryan Freckleton; City of Plymouth) – T47 100m, 200m

Graeme Ballard (Trevor Painter; Wigan & District) – T36 100m & 200m

Martina Barber (Paddy O’Shea; Stevenage & North Herts) – T20 Long Jump

Olivia Breen (Aston Moore; City of Portsmouth) – T38 100m

Sally Brown (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T47 100m, 200m & 400m

Jo Butterfield (Philip Peat; Forth Valley) – F51 Club Throw

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks; Harlow) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 1500m

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks; Halifax) – T34 100m & 800m

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer Jones; Cardiff) – F63 Shot Put & Discus

David Devine (Anthony Clarke; Liverpool – T13 1500m & 5000m

Hannah Dines (Janice Eaglesham) – RR3 100m

Gavin Drysdale (Janice Eaglesham; Red Star) – RR3 100m

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson; Deeside) – F20 Shot Put

Dan Greaves (Self-coached; Charnwood) – F64 Discus

Kylie Grimes (Philip Peat; Coventry) – F51 Club Throw

Kayleigh Haggo (Janice Eaglesham; Ayr Seaforth) – RR3 100M

Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T38 100m, 200m & 4x100m mixed relay

Callum Hall (Ian Thompson; Leeds) – T53 100m, 400m & 800m

David Henson (Roger Keller; Southampton) – T61 200m

Jordan Howe (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T35 100m & 200m

Harri Jenkins (Anthony Hughes; DSW Para Academy) – T33 100m

Mo Jomni (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T53 100m, 200m & 400m

Rhys Jones (Christian Malcolm; DSW Para Academy) – T37 100m & 200m

Kyle Keyworth (Manchester) – T35 100m & 200m

Dillon Labrooy (Jenny Archer; Weir Archer Academy) – T54 400m, 800m & 1500m

Maria Lyle (Jamie Bowie; Team East Lothian) – T35 100m & 200m

Nathan Maguire (Ste Hoskins; Halton & Frodsham) – T54 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m & 4x100m mixed relay

Polly Maton (Colin Baross; Team Devizes) – T47 Long Jump, 100m & 4x100m mixed relay

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller; Gateshead) – F32 Club Throw

Steve Morris (James Thie; Cardiff) – T20 800m &1500m

Taz Nicholls (Alison O’Riordan; Shaftesbury Barnet) – F64 Discus

Luke Nuttall (Vince Wilson; Charnwood) – T46 1500m

Stephen Osborne (Jenni Banks; Dartford) – T51 100m, 200m

Javaughan Parkes (Lincoln Asquith; Birchfield) – T36 100m

Ross Paterson (John Kinder; Red Star) – T38 200m & 400m

Stef Reid (Aston Moore; Charnwood) – T64 Long Jump and 200m* (200m subject to confirmation)

Ben Rowlings (Ian Mirfin; Coventry) – T34 100m, 400m & 800m

Amir Sarvestani (Self-coached) – T11 Long Jump

Zac Shaw (Joe McDonnell; Cleethorpes) – T12 100m & 200m

Luke Sinnott (Roger Keller; Bournemouth) – T63 200m & Long Jump

Zak Skinner (Aston Moore; Tonbridge) – T13 100m, Long Jump & 4x100m mixed relay

Ali Smith (Paul MacGregor; Guildford & Godalming) – T38 100m, 200m, 400m & Long Jump

Rafi Solaiman (Sheffield & Dearne) – RR3 100m

Laura Sugar (Joe McDonnell; Birchfield) – T44 100m & 200m

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman / Jenni Banks; Blackpool, Wyre & Field) – T34 400m & 800m

Vanessa Wallace (Alison O’Riordan; Enfield & Haringey) – F34 Shot Put & Javelin

Eve Walsh Dann (Roger Sexton; North Down) – T36 100m & 200m

Shaun White (Christine Parsloe; Sutton & District) – T33 100m

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine; Southwell) – T61 200m

Thomas Young (Joe McDonnell; Charnwood) – T38 100m & 200m

Share this page

Related News