29 April 2019

GB name 24-strong team for World Para Swimming Championships in London

Ellie Simmonds will return to the scene of her crowning glory in the pool after being confirmed in the British squad for the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships in London.

The five-time Paralympic champion is one of 24 swimmers who will get the chance to compete in front of a home crowd at the London Aquatics Centre from 9-15 September.

Simmonds, who swims in the S6 category, set two new world records at the iconic venue when she struck gold in the 400m freestyle and 200m individual medley at the London 2012 Paralympics.

And the 24-year-old will have the opportunity to win more global honours at the pool she now calls home, after securing qualification at the World Para Swimming World Series in Glasgow last week.

On the team selection, head coach Rob Aubry said: “I’m delighted with the team that we have selected to represent Great Britain at the World Championships in London in September.

“We have selected a team that will not just make finals, but challenge for medals in front of a home crowd. With a year to go until Tokyo, we have also selected a couple of new faces onto the team, to gain valuable experience within the final preparation phase.

“These athletes will be working hard on race preparation and learning what it takes to deliver their best performances under pressure.

“We have always delivered strong performances in the female relays but I’m delighted that we’ve been able to select a strong S14 Mixed Relay combination too.

“I’m excited about the prospect of this team and future development of these individuals, as we continue to push these combinations forwards at a global level.”

Simmonds came close to breaking her own British record in the 400m freestyle as she won gold at the four-day event in Glasgow, which doubled up as the British Para Swimming International Meet.

Jessica-Jane Applegate is also in the squad

Elsewhere, Alice Tai, Maisie Summers-Newton and newcomer Reece Dunn all broke world records at the Tollcross International Swimming Centre to secure their selection for London 2019.

The last time the World Para Swimming Championships took place in the UK four years ago, Simmonds, Tai and Jessica-Jane Applegate were amongst the Brits who claimed gold.

They will all once again be aiming for global titles in London, where they will be joined in the squad by the likes of Paralympic medallists Ellie Robinson and Tom Hamer.

Emerging stars such as Ellie Challis and Toni Shaw are also included, along with Louise Fiddes, Bethany Firth, Michael Jones, Megan Richter, Jordan Catchpole, Stephen Clegg and Brock Whiston.

The British Para-Swimming team for the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships:

Jessica-Jane Applegate, England, City of Norwich SC

Jordan Catchpole, England, City of Norwich SC

Stephen Clegg, Scotland, City of Sunderland ASC

Reece Dunn, England, Plymouth Leander SC

Louise Fiddes, England, Hatfield SC

Bethany Firth, England, Newcastle Swim Team

Thomas Hamer, England, Stockport Metro SC

Michael Jones, England, National Performance Centre/COMAST

Scott Quin, Scotland, Warrender Baths

Rebecca Redfern, England, Worcester SC

Megan Richter, England, Orion SC

Eleanor Robinson, England, Northampton SC

Toni Shaw, Scotland, University of Aberdeen

Eleanor Simmonds, England, Camden Swiss Cottage SC

Maisie Summers Newton, England, Northampton SC

Alice Tai, England, Ealing SC

Brock Whiston, England, Barking & Dagenham Aquatics Club

The athletes above gained selection after they achieved the consideration time as per the selection policy (individual).

Stephanie Millward, England, Corsham ASC

Zara Mullooly, England, Guildford City SC

The athletes above gained selection after they achieved the consideration time as per the selection policy (relay).

Ellie Challis, England, Colchester Phoenix ASC

Suzanna Hext, England, Swindon Dolphin ASC

Tully Kearney, England, National Performance Centre/COMAST

Louis Lawlor, Scotland, Glasgow SC

Rhys Davies, Wales, Pembroke & District ASC

The athletes above gained selection at the discretion of the National Performance Director.

Share this page

Related News