3 June 2020

British Curling announces wheelchair curling squad for 2020-21

With competition for Beijing Paralympic places on the horizon, Sochi 2014 bronze medallist Gregor Ewan returns to the fold as British Curling announce their eight player squad for the coming season.

Skip Hugh Nibloe welcomed the return of his ParalympicsGB PyeongChang teammate.

“There is no-one as proud as Gregor to pull on the Scotland or GB shirt,” said Nibloe.

“He has a wealth of World Champs and Paralympics experience that all of the squad will be able to lean on and learn from. There will be a greater depth this season and everyone in the squad will have to work hard and train hard to earn their place in the team and I am excited by that.”


There is no-one as proud as Gregor to pull on the Scotland or GB shirt

Hugh Nibloe

Ewan won World Championship silver in 2011 and bronze in 2017 either side of success in Sochi and has his sights firmly set on adding to that haul.

“I didn’t make it to Vancouver, but I made it my mission to make sure I made it to the next Paralympics. Getting my first shirt for Scotland and then ParalympicsGB with my name on were huge moments in the game for me and I could not have been prouder to wear that on my back. For me it makes my heart pump.”

The Elgin curler joins fellow Sochi medallist Robert McPherson in the squad, along with other 2019 World silver medallists David Melrose and Gary Logan.

Nibloe in action in PyeongChang

Gary Smith, Charlotte McKenna and Meggan Dawson-Farrell have also retained their places on the programme.

In addition, three new athletes will train alongside the squad as part of a number of changes to the British Curling selection process. Stephen McGarry, Stewart Pimblett and Norma Woods are being supported at stage two of the refined process.

Of the new approach British Curling Paralympic Head Coach Sheila Swan said: “It’s allowed us to expand our talent pool by enabling new athletes to train alongside other members of the squad as we are constantly looking at ways of expanding our talent ID process and providing more opportunities.

“Despite what has been an extremely challenging end to the wheelchair curling schedule and a premature one for the sport as a whole, all of the selected athletes have continued to work hard… It’s good when hard work is rewarded, especially as we head into the business end of the Paralympic cycle.

“The expanded squad provides us with a great opportunity in our preparations for our World Championships in Beijing next year, the same venue which will host the next Paralympic Games in 2022.

British Curling Programme Squad

Stage 1:

Meggan Dawson-Farrell (Tullibody)

Gregor Ewan (Elgin)

Gary Logan (Cornhill on Tweed)

Charlotte McKenna (Bridge of Allan)

Robert McPherson (Bellshill)

David Melrose (Duns)

Hugh Nibloe (Stirling)

Gary Smith (Edinburgh)

Stage 2:

Stephen McGarry (Bedlington)

Stewart Pimblett (Seghill)

Norma Woods (Bedlington)

Share this page

Related News