16 September 2020

BPA Athletes’ Commission seeks new members

The British Paralympic Association is seeking new members for our Athletes’ Commission and nominations are now open until 7 October.

Hear from the members standing down

With four current members due to stand down having served the maximum two four-year terms on the Commission, the current chair Helene Raynsford is determined to ensure the group continues to work closely with the BPA to ensure athletes’ voices are heard.


Athletes are best placed to provide advice and feedback on a wide range of issues which have a direct benefit on fellow ParalympicsGB athletes, and the presence of the Athletes’ Commission ensures we get the opportunity to do just that.

Athletes' Commission Chair Helene Raynsford

“While we will be sorry to see current members go, and have greatly valued their significant input in recent years, I am equally looking forward to welcoming new faces to the group,” said Raynsford.

The Athletes’ Commission acts as an advisory group to the BPA - representing the views of athletes to the BPA board, Executive team and other working groups and committees.

Six new members will be elected at this year’s elections, which take place in November, bringing the total number of members to 12. Two further members were added to the group to take in to account the increasing opportunities and feedback sought by the BPA.

Athletes discuss 2016 ceremony wear with the ASOS design team

Campaigns, classification, kit

From campaigns to classification and kit, the Athletes’ Commission is regularly consulted on a wide range of issues.

Most recently, Raynsford led a focus group consulting athletes on issues brought to the fore by the Black Lives Matter movement and events that unfolded around the world this summer following the death of George Floyd in the USA.

“I strongly encourage athletes from all backgrounds, impairment groups and sports to consider putting themselves forward for the forthcoming elections,” added Raynsford.

“While the Commission provides a vital opportunity for the athlete body to shape and influence decisions, it’s equally important that the group truly reflects the diversity of athletes that we represent.”

Current and recently retired Paralympians (athletes who have competed for ParalympicsGB at a Games within the last twelve years from the nomination closing date) over the age of 18 are eligible for the role.

Athletes seeking nomination must be over 18 years-old and be either a current or recently retired Paralympian. Retired athletes should have competed at a Games within 12 years of the nomination closing date (7 October).

No more than two members of the Athletes’ Commission can come from the same sport and no more than five members of the group can be retired athletes.

All nominees should have agreement from their NGB and/or current employer to be able to attend all BPA Athletes’ Commission meetings, either in person or virtually – there are six a year.

The deadline for nominations – which, for current athletes must be submitted via National Governing Bodies, and for retired athletes should be supported by either the athletes’ former NGB or two current athletes – is 7 October, with voting opening in early November.

BPA Athletes’ Commission

Helene Raynsford (Chair) – retired (Rowing)

Grace Clough – retired (Rowing)

Lora Fachie (Cycling)

Charlotte Henshaw (Canoe)

Ali Jawad (Powerlifting)

Sean Rose - retired (Snowsport)

Members required to step down at the end of 2020:

Claire Cashmore (Triathlon)

Sophie Christiansen (Equestrian)

Ben Quilter – retired (Judo)

Stef Reid – (Athletics)

For further information please contact athletescommission@paralympics.org.uk

Share this page