4 November 2022

Athletes' Commission Elections: Voting Open

Voting for the BPA Athletes’ Commission election officially opened on 4 November with eight current and former athletes each hoping to secure one of five available positions.

The candidates standing for election are:

Hannah Cockroft (athletics)

David Ellis (triathlon)

Daniel English (blind football)

Lora Fachie (cycling; completed one term, eligible for re-election)

Kelly Gallagher (retired, Alpine skiing)

Charlotte Henshaw (canoe; completed one term, eligible for re-election)

Giedre Rakauskaite (rowing)

Amy Truesdale (taekwondo)

Sean Rose (snowsport; retired), Grace Clough (rowing) and Ali Jawad (powerlifting) are stepping down from the Commission this year, with the five newly elected members joining Libby Clegg (athletics), Natasha Baker (equestrian), Gaz Choudry (wheelchair basketball), Claire Taggart (boccia), Helen Scott (cycling) and Tania Nadarajah (archery) on the Commission alongside Chair Helene Raynsford.

To meet the candidates visit the ParalympicsGB YouTube channel

How to vote

The Athletes’ Commission acts as an advisory group to the BPA - representing the views of athletes to the BPA board, Executive team and other working groups and committees on a wide range of issues, from classification to kit.

Elections take place every two years, with athletes able to serve a maximum of two four-year terms. There are currently 12 members on the Commission.

Chair Helene Raynsford said:

“The athlete voice is incredibly important – and the BPA Athletes’ Commission provides the perfect platform for athletes to be heard and to input into decision making. I would encourage all athletes who are eligible to vote to make sure they have their say in shaping the Commission.”

Voting opens online on 4 November through to 23 November, with current and retired Paralympians who have competed for ParalympicsGB at a Games within the last 12 years eligible to take part.

Individuals will receive a dedicated e-mail which provides further details and a personal link to the voting platform where they will be asked to select three nominees, in no specific order, before submitting their vote.

For more information contact athletescommission@paralympics.org.uk

Share this page